Uncategorized

Taking Time with Tiel of Tsk Tsk – Collecting Nature

by Jenny Butler
Monday 12th December 2011

This week we welcome Tiel Seivl-Keevers to the Guest Blog! Tiel is one of our favourite Australian artists and bloggers and we’re so chuffed that Tiel will be blogging with us all week, sharing some of the things that inspire her and her artwork. It’s going to be a lovely week, thanks so much Tiel! – Jenny x

I’m obsessed with looking closely at natural and organic shapes. Plant life that is, not overweight men at the beach.

I’m a collector, but not a keeper. I mean I keep what I collect for a period of time until I’m bored with it. I pick flowers, put them into vases, forget to add water and watch how they change. Leaves can shrivel and curl, petals will fall and I love how their oldness becomes new. It’s something I try to capture in my paintings and illustrations.

Vegetables and fruit can have the same beauty. The purple leaves of an onion, the seeds in a pomegranate, the shapes of freshly cut shallots.

The structural elements of plants amaze me. So complex, yet so simple.

Tiel x


by Jenny Butler
Monday 12th December 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 26th April 2016
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 19th May 2016
13
Kate Berry
Tuesday 10th May 2016
2
Kate Berry
Tuesday 17th May 2016
Kate Berry
Tuesday 31st May 2016
5
Kate Berry
Tuesday 24th May 2016
3
Kate Berry
Tuesday 3rd May 2016
3
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 27th April 2016
10
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 28th April 2016
Sean Fennessy
Friday 29th April 2016
5
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 2nd May 2016
291