Uncategorized

Taking Time with Tiel of Tsk Tsk – Collecting Nature

by Jenny Butler
Monday 12th December 2011

This week we welcome Tiel Seivl-Keevers to the Guest Blog! Tiel is one of our favourite Australian artists and bloggers and we’re so chuffed that Tiel will be blogging with us all week, sharing some of the things that inspire her and her artwork. It’s going to be a lovely week, thanks so much Tiel! – Jenny x

I’m obsessed with looking closely at natural and organic shapes. Plant life that is, not overweight men at the beach.

I’m a collector, but not a keeper. I mean I keep what I collect for a period of time until I’m bored with it. I pick flowers, put them into vases, forget to add water and watch how they change. Leaves can shrivel and curl, petals will fall and I love how their oldness becomes new. It’s something I try to capture in my paintings and illustrations.

Vegetables and fruit can have the same beauty. The purple leaves of an onion, the seeds in a pomegranate, the shapes of freshly cut shallots.

The structural elements of plants amaze me. So complex, yet so simple.

Tiel x


by Jenny Butler
Monday 12th December 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 29th June 2016
11
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 5th July 2016
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 30th June 2016
2
Sarah Trotter of Hearth Studio
Friday 1st July 2016
7
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 4th July 2016
Phillip Messenger
Tuesday 5th July 2016
3
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 6th July 2016
10
Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 7th July 2016
1
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 8th July 2016
6
Phillip Messenger
Tuesday 12th July 2016
4
Philip Messenger
Tuesday 26th July 2016
2