Uncategorized

Summer in the Park – The Royal Botanical Gardens

by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 9th November 2011

A little while ago, Lucy did a great interview with Marc Martin as part of the release of his book “The Curious Explorer’s Illustrated Pocket Companion to Exotic Animals A-Z“. If you’re interested in seeing more of Marc’s work, be sure to check out his website too! – Jenny x

The Royal Botanical Gardens in Melbourne is a great place to go for a lunchtime stroll to get away from the chaos and noise of the CBD.

Whilst most people know the gardens for its amazing array of plants and ornamental lake (filled with hundreds of wriggling eels!), I’m particularly fond of the Arid Garden, located near the eastern lawn.

Here you’ll see all kinds of exotic cacti and succulents from around the world. This native Wattlebird I’ve drawn is on the lookout for something juicy to feed on. Unfortunately, the Arid Garden isn’t the best place to looking for nectar, just peace and quiet!

Marc


by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 9th November 2011

5 comments

  • Jacqui 5 years ago

    am a huge fan of your work mark!

  • Clare 5 years ago

    This one is a particularly beautiful illustration. Love it.

  • Lee 5 years ago

    I’m a huge fan of the arid garden too! Sculptural beauty at its best. Love the beautiful illustration too.

  • Fiona 5 years ago

    Love these works – the technique is beautiful and eye-catching. Wish I was able to spend more time in Melbourne to enjoy these parks!

  • catherine 5 years ago

    This illustration is beautiful – I love the arid garden at the RBG too (I love most things about the Botanical Gardens!)

You might also like

Amber Roche of Pana Chocolate
Tuesday 28th July 2015
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 27th July 2015
2
Meg Mason
Friday 31st July 2015
8
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 18th August 2015
2
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 28th July 2015
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 29th July 2015
11
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 30th July 2015
31
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 3rd August 2015
4
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 4th August 2015
9
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 5th August 2015
10
Rohan Anderson
Tuesday 4th August 2015
Madeleine Dore
Friday 7th August 2015
9