Uncategorized

Summer in the Park – The Royal Botanical Gardens

by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 9th November 2011

A little while ago, Lucy did a great interview with Marc Martin as part of the release of his book “The Curious Explorer’s Illustrated Pocket Companion to Exotic Animals A-Z“. If you’re interested in seeing more of Marc’s work, be sure to check out his website too! – Jenny x

The Royal Botanical Gardens in Melbourne is a great place to go for a lunchtime stroll to get away from the chaos and noise of the CBD.

Whilst most people know the gardens for its amazing array of plants and ornamental lake (filled with hundreds of wriggling eels!), I’m particularly fond of the Arid Garden, located near the eastern lawn.

Here you’ll see all kinds of exotic cacti and succulents from around the world. This native Wattlebird I’ve drawn is on the lookout for something juicy to feed on. Unfortunately, the Arid Garden isn’t the best place to looking for nectar, just peace and quiet!

Marc


by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 9th November 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

Julia Busuttil Nishimura of Ostro
Tuesday 26th January 2016
by Stuart Harrison
Monday 25th January 2016
2
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 9th February 2016
2
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 27th January 2016
11
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 29th January 2016
1
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 28th January 2016
1
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 26th January 2016
5
Jo Hoban
Monday 1st February 2016
4
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 2nd February 2016
3
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 2nd February 2016
13
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 3rd February 2016
13
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 4th February 2016
1