Uncategorized

At The Movies with Heath Killen – New Wave

by Jenny Butler
Tuesday 15th November 2011

Another fantastic day full of film posters with Heath Killen. As part of his Guest Blog this week, Heath has offered an amazing giveaway – a customised movie poster depicting the Australian film of your choice! Just leave a comment between now and 10.00pm Thursday – the winner will be drawn randomly and announced on Friday. Good luck! – Jenny x


If you haven’t seen the ozploitation documentary ‘Not Quite Hollywood‘ – I recommend doing so immediately. It’s a fascinating insight into the Australian culture of the time, and a snapshot of the film industry during a particularly frenzied and innovative period. This was a period of low-budget, high concept genre film making that¬† helped launch the careers of some of the giants of Australian film.

Some of the more interesting Australian film posters emerged from this time too. We see a broader range of illustration styles. Airbrushing. Collage. Typographic experiments and some pretty lurid imagery. It’s all shlock, sex and surrealism.

This is an era that has become ripe with nostalgia. Much of the design is actually pretty good, and the bad is bad in the best possible way. Impossible not to love.

Heath


by Jenny Butler
Tuesday 15th November 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 19th May 2016
13
Kate Berry
Tuesday 10th May 2016
2
Kate Berry
Tuesday 17th May 2016
Kate Berry
Tuesday 31st May 2016
5
Kate Berry
Tuesday 24th May 2016
3
Kate Berry
Tuesday 3rd May 2016
3
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 2nd May 2016
291
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 3rd May 2016
1
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 4th May 2016
9
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 5th May 2016
8
Adriana Hanna
Friday 6th May 2016
4