Uncategorized

The JamFactory – Glass Studio

by Jenny Butler
Thursday 27th October 2011

Today we get a tour of the JamFactory‘s glass studio and see some glass blowing in action! Today is also your last chance to leave a comment and go into the draw to win a KINK Oil Bottle that is made in the very studio we tour below. Entries close at 10pm tonight and the winner will be drawn at random and announced tomorrow. -Jenny x

JamFactory Glass Studio

Blowing glass at the JamFactory

We train through production. Every year three new associates enter our two-year training program.  Current associates are first years Emma de Brabant , Emma Klau , Andrew Ferguson, Katie Plunkard, and second years, Kristel Britcher, Madeline Prowd, and Andrea Fiebig. “Training through production” means a practical, vocational training that is orientated around the design and production of glass objects – as commissions, one off works and short production runs, including the making of JamFactory products like the KINK Oil Bottle.

Tools of the trade

Passing on skills

As with many trades, skills and sports, repetition of tasks is the only way to improve. This is certainly the case when training to be a glassblower. Our associates work 8am to 4:30pm every weekday as a minimum, often putting in many extra hours during evenings and weekends.  At the end of the program associates are well equipped to start their own businesses as practicing glass artists.

Commission work is a big part of the studio’s income such as the Science Award

Associate work helps to provide an income for individual artists, second year associate, Madeline Prowd’s Tumblers and Jugs (available from JamFactory shops)

Second year associate, Kristel Britcher’s Suspension Range (available from JamFactory shops)

by Jenny Butler
Thursday 27th October 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
Kate Berry
Tuesday 31st May 2016
5
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 2nd June 2016
3
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 14th June 2016
6
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 28th June 2016
3
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 7th June 2016
3
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 21st June 2016
4
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 30th May 2016
1
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 31st May 2016
Jo Hoban
Wednesday 1st June 2016
14
by Lisa Marie Corso
Friday 3rd June 2016
3
by Stuart Harrison
Monday 6th June 2016
1