Uncategorized

Junior – Sitting with Stan

by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 12th October 2011

Today’s Guest Blog is penned by Stan Johnson, Creative Director and writer of the Monday Morning WHIP on JUNIOR. We spend some time with Stan in his work space and see some of the objects that inspire his weekly posts. Thanks Stan! – Jenny x

Every Monday morning, for as long as I can remember, I’ve written the Weekly Whip for JUNIOR. Each week I wonder what I’m going to write about, yet sooner or later inspiration strikes.

I believe this is because I surround myself with inspiration, as you can see quite clearly from this picture of the desk in my study where I write.

My personal hero is British designer Paul Smith, who says that you can find inspiration in everything. And that if you can’t, to look again. I can’t imagine working somewhere that isn’t visually stimulating.

Whether it’s music, film, art or just stuff I’ve found in a $2 shop, my study is overflowing with inspiration. Every person who has ever visited my house finds themselves drawn to it.

Like most creative people, I sometimes find the ideas don’t come. When this happens I turn to Brian Eno’s Oblique Strategies. I heartily recommend them, although tracking down a set may prove difficult.

I’ve been trying to work that giant ice cream cone into an idea for ages. One day I’ll manage to do it. Just you wait and see!

Stan


by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 12th October 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 23rd February 2016
4
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 24th February 2016
5
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 2nd March 2016
31
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 22nd February 2016
3
by Lisa Marie Corso
Friday 26th February 2016
5
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 23rd February 2016
4
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 25th February 2016
1
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 15th March 2016
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 1st March 2016
1
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 22nd March 2016
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 8th March 2016
1
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 29th March 2016
2