Graphic Design

A Friend of Mine – Paper cut graphics

by Lucy Feagins, Editor
Tuesday 20th September 2011

Graphic identity by Suzy Tuxen of A Friend of Mine, created for last year’s VCE ‘Season of Excellence’ event.

Must admit I’m very slow off the mark with this one, but it’s too beautiful not to share… wouldn’t you agree?

This beautiful paper project is by Melbourne-based graphic designer Suzy Tuxen of A Friend of Mine, and was created for last year’s VCE Season of Excellence event – a series of exhibitions staged by the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (VCAA), to showcase the best creative work produced by VCE students in various fields.

A Friend Of Mine is usually a one-woman show, but for this ambitious project Suzy joined forces with friend and long-time collaborator Ryan Ward (of United Measures!) to create this striking campaign identity and associated print matter.  A series of hand-cut, layered dioramas were crafted for each field of study, each one framed within the silhouette of an arm, reflecting the hard work and enthusiasm evident in the students’ work.  Such a beautiful concept – not to mention razor-sharp execution!

That Ms. Tuxen really is making some amazing work!  More pics and other projects on her website.

Graphic identity by Suzy Tuxen of A Friend of Mine, created for last year’s VCE ‘Season of Excellence’ event.

Handcutting the prototype!

by Lucy Feagins, Editor
Tuesday 20th September 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lisa Marie Corso
Monday 18th January 2016
5
Michael Pham of Phamily Kitchen
Tuesday 19th January 2016
2
Julia Busuttil Nishimura of Ostro
Tuesday 26th January 2016
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 20th January 2016
11
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 19th January 2016
Georgina Reid
Thursday 21st January 2016
30
Madeleine Dore
Friday 22nd January 2016
17
by Stuart Harrison
Monday 25th January 2016
2
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 9th February 2016
2
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 27th January 2016
11
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 29th January 2016
1
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 28th January 2016
1