Textiles

Double Denim

by Lucy Feagins, Editor
Thursday 4th August 2011

Dell Stewart has curated ‘Denim.‘,  an exhibition of the contemporary use of denim in art, craft and design.  Top left – ‘Golden Fleece 3’ by Renilde De Peuter.  Pillowcases top right are by UK artist Julie Floersch whose work sadly will miss the exhibition due to international shipping dramas! Agh disaster.  No matter… there is much other gorgeousness to see, and Julie’s work will still feature in the very special full colour catalogue Dell has created.  The fabulous denim bracelets are by Sydney based Lyn Balzer and Tony Perkins.

YES it’s two posts in one day… and perhaps more importantly, it’s TWO posts in one week about DENIM.

Talented Melbourne crafter / artist Dell Stewart has curated ‘Denim.‘,  an inspired exhibition of art, craft and design inspired by this most versatile and timeless of textiles.  Dell has selected an incredible line-up of both local and international makers… Melbourne creative Max Olijnyk of Note to Self is represented, as is craft queen Penelope Durston of Cottage Industry… and Sydney-based sisterly talent team Maricor / Maricar are also on board, along with a host of other insanely talented people.  The show opens tomorrow at Mr Kitly, Brunswick’s much loved quirky shop and exhibition space.  And the dress code for tomorrow night?  Double denim of course.

See you there!

Denim.
Mr Kitly
Upstairs, 381 Sydney rd
Brunswick

Opening this Friday August 5th! 6.00pm – 8.00pm

Gallery hours
Thursday – Saturday 11.00am – 6.00pm
Sunday 11.00am – 4.00pm

Denim flyer, featuring ‘Golden Fleece 3’ by Renilde De Peuter

by Lucy Feagins, Editor
Thursday 4th August 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 29th June 2016
11
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 5th July 2016
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 30th June 2016
2
Sarah Trotter of Hearth Studio
Friday 1st July 2016
7
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 4th July 2016
Phillip Messenger
Tuesday 5th July 2016
3
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 6th July 2016
10
Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 7th July 2016
1
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 8th July 2016
6
Phillip Messenger
Tuesday 12th July 2016
4
Philip Messenger
Tuesday 26th July 2016
2