Uncategorized

Milan Design Week 2011 – The Fun, Beautiful and Unusual

by Jenny Butler
Tuesday 26th April 2011

For day 2 of Alessandra‘s report of Milan Design Week, we’re taken on a tour of some of the standout stalls of 2011. After 2 days of trying to see everything, Alessandra has rounded up her favourites for us. I think I need a neon Ghost Chair light…! -Jenny x

I walked through the stands for 2 days… I saw some incredible sets, some extravagant products and some funny places. Here is a little selection for you… Enjoy!

Two super bright stands: Kartell (like in Las Vegas!) and Campeggi (big colored and moving clouds!!).

Extreme lights: the chair-light Alice, design by Jacopo Foggini for Edra (for a magical atmosphere, as if you were Alice in Wonderland!) and the big Origami design by Ramon Esteve for Vibia.

Extreme red: Long and asymmetric red wardrobe designed by Montana and the extravagant chaise lounge Loop by Sophie De Vocht for Casamania (a mix between a mermaid and an octopus!).

“Relax is a game” (translation of “Il Relax è un gioco” from the stand of Playwood)… and some of the stands are funny and playful: Vitra with this party-set and Normann Copenhagen with this black rainy wall!

On the beach with Lago: all of the stand was covered with high sun umbrellas and the floor was covered with white pebbles… so cute!

Some beautiful natural and exotic stands: Indera and its big walls covered with natural wood (they hide shelves and drawers!), the green wall made with real magnolia leafs design by Piero Lissoni for Pierantonio Bonacina. In the photo below, the extravagant wall of Dedon and the elegant stand of Roda.

Alessandra x


by Jenny Butler
Tuesday 26th April 2011

1 comments

  • Tracy 5 years ago

    Wow amazing things happening in Milan! Thanks Alessandra for sharing your finds!

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 30th June 2015
3
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 9th July 2015
5
Cle-ann Stampolidis
Tuesday 12th May 2015
Cle-ann Stampolidis
Tuesday 19th May 2015
1
Cle-ann Stampolidis
Tuesday 26th May 2015
by Amber Creswell Bell
Friday 8th May 2015
2
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th May 2015
18
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 21st May 2015
2
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 14th May 2015
12
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 7th May 2015
5
by Georgina Reid
Monday 11th May 2015
17
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 12th May 2015
3