Uncategorized

David Bromley – New Works

by Jenny Butler
Friday 8th April 2011

Today we must say thank you and goodbye to David Bromley after a magnificent week on the Guest Blog.  Thank you to Esther at The Project Agency for facilitating this guest blog too. Don’t forget Another Time Another Place launches at Capocchi today – go and check it out! Thank you again David, we’ve loved having you on the Guest Blog! – Jenny x

I have a fascination with collage and reliefs. Sometimes I think I like old signs / posters, old circus banners and old fairground puppet shows etc more than contemporary paintings. An old book on shopfronts/sign writing in Russia and America showcasing beautiful weathered facades is full of imagery that draws me to it so much. Some of my new pieces are very much me wanting to play with the extra dimension that can be achieved using the shadow box as a little theatrette.

I have a love for so much imagery from a bygone era and especially the old pulp magazines and kitsch, making all the components, then hand making the frames and structures to play like little stages – the kitsch paintings of crying big eyed children and velvet paintings, smoking boys and skulls with still lifes are really impacting on me and I’ve been having a great time reinterpreting those. It’s a great adventure making new work.

New works by David Bromley

Another Time Another Place

Melbourne – From Friday 8th April

Capocchi 941-951 High Street, Armadale, Victoria 3143 t 03 9822 3700

Sydney –  Saturday 30th April

Bromley Arcade 7 Danks Street, Waterloo, NSW 2017 t 02 9319 1624

David


by Jenny Butler
Friday 8th April 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
Kate Berry
Tuesday 31st May 2016
5
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 2nd June 2016
3
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 14th June 2016
6
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 28th June 2016
3
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 7th June 2016
3
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 21st June 2016
4
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 30th May 2016
1
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 31st May 2016
Jo Hoban
Wednesday 1st June 2016
14
by Lisa Marie Corso
Friday 3rd June 2016
3
by Stuart Harrison
Monday 6th June 2016
1