Art

Mary McMahon – ‘Love is in the Air’ Exhibition

by Lucy Feagins, Editor
Tuesday 8th February 2011
New mosaic sculptures by Mary McMahon for a new exhibition at Gasworks Arts Park

Last year when I shared the eclectic, colour-filled home of artist and ex art-teacher Mary McMahon, there were so many sweet comments and inquiries regarding Mary’s incredible mosaic ‘ladies’!  They certainly seemed to steal the show, and Mary was thrilled to receive such positive feedback!

If you were intrigued by these incredible creations, you’ll be pleased to know that Mary is finally staging a stand-alone exhibition of her unique busts, in an exhibition at Gasworks Arts Park which opens in Melbourne TODAY!  Entitled ‘Love is in the Air‘, the show brings together a magical new collection of brand new works, and they’ll also be available BUY.  (the perfect Valentine?)

Inspired by the amazing mosaic work of Antoni Gaudi, Mary’s pieces incorporate a huge variety of collected china, ceramic tiles and found objects – many of them precious pieces, broken ‘by-accident-on-purpose’  if you know what I mean. :)

DO pop down and support Mary this month by visiting the show at Gasworks Arts Park! She would be super chuffed.

Love is in the Air – Mosaic Sculptures by Mary McMahon
Angela Robarts-Bird Gallery, Gasworks Arts Park
Cnr Graham & Pickles Street
Albert Park VIC 3206

Open daily 9.00am – 5.00pm, until Feb 27th


by Lucy Feagins, Editor
Tuesday 8th February 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
Kate Berry
Tuesday 31st May 2016
5
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 2nd June 2016
3
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 14th June 2016
6
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 28th June 2016
3
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 7th June 2016
3
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 21st June 2016
4
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 30th May 2016
1
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 31st May 2016
Jo Hoban
Wednesday 1st June 2016
14
by Lisa Marie Corso
Friday 3rd June 2016
3
by Stuart Harrison
Monday 6th June 2016
1