Uncategorized

Inspired Craft for Kids with Anna-Wili Highfield – Hobby Horses!

by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 23rd February 2011

Today’s Guest Blog with Anna-Wili Highfield and her crafty Hobby Horse is sure to be a hit with any small person! The fun of making and playing around on your very own pony is almost too exciting for words, other than “giddy up” of course! – Jenny x

I thought of doing this a while ago, and made them with my daughters kindy friends. I think they are fun.

How to make a hobby horse.

Have a look at a horses profile. Draw and cut two pieces out of cardboard. Using the first as a pattern to trace the second.

Have your friend paint them. Wrap a dowel rod or a nice long stick (about an inch thick) with ribbon. Put the rod between the two horse head sides. If your cardboard is thin enough (although it’s not good if it’s thin enough to flop) staple heads together. Or punch holes with something sharp and tie string through to hold. Staple outer edges.

Giddy Up!

Butttt… I used some dowel close at hand that was hardwood and heavy and my accomplice became frustrated. Light thinner pine is best. But you know it’s good to use what you find.

It looks pretty in her room anyway. Stop by for some dollies and ballerinas crafts tomorrow!

A.W


by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 23rd February 2011

2 comments

  • Tracy 4 years ago

    Thank you for the great craft projects. I will be doing these with my daughter.

  • Meaghan 4 years ago

    I wish I had a daughter to do these with!

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 19th November 2014
17
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 21st November 2014
4
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 20th November 2014
Tamsin Carvan of Tamsin's Table
Tuesday 18th November 2014
4
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 17th November 2014
7
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 18th November 2014
3
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 12th November 2014
18
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 11th November 2014
4
Tamsin Carvan of Tamsin's Table
Tuesday 11th November 2014
1
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 14th November 2014
5
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 13th November 2014
3
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 10th November 2014
7