Uncategorized

Inspired Craft for Kids with Anna-Wili Highfield – Hobby Horses!

by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 23rd February 2011

Today’s Guest Blog with Anna-Wili Highfield and her crafty Hobby Horse is sure to be a hit with any small person! The fun of making and playing around on your very own pony is almost too exciting for words, other than “giddy up” of course! – Jenny x

I thought of doing this a while ago, and made them with my daughters kindy friends. I think they are fun.

How to make a hobby horse.

Have a look at a horses profile. Draw and cut two pieces out of cardboard. Using the first as a pattern to trace the second.

Have your friend paint them. Wrap a dowel rod or a nice long stick (about an inch thick) with ribbon. Put the rod between the two horse head sides. If your cardboard is thin enough (although it’s not good if it’s thin enough to flop) staple heads together. Or punch holes with something sharp and tie string through to hold. Staple outer edges.

Giddy Up!

Butttt… I used some dowel close at hand that was hardwood and heavy and my accomplice became frustrated. Light thinner pine is best. But you know it’s good to use what you find.

It looks pretty in her room anyway. Stop by for some dollies and ballerinas crafts tomorrow!

A.W


by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 23rd February 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 5th July 2016
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 30th June 2016
2
Sarah Trotter of Hearth Studio
Friday 1st July 2016
7
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 4th July 2016
Phillip Messenger
Tuesday 5th July 2016
3
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 6th July 2016
10
Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 7th July 2016
1
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 8th July 2016
6
Phillip Messenger
Tuesday 12th July 2016
4
Philip Messenger
Tuesday 26th July 2016
2
Georgina Reid
Monday 11th July 2016
4