Uncategorized

Inspired Craft for Kids with Anna-Wili Highfield – Hobby Horses!

by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 23rd February 2011

Today’s Guest Blog with Anna-Wili Highfield and her crafty Hobby Horse is sure to be a hit with any small person! The fun of making and playing around on your very own pony is almost too exciting for words, other than “giddy up” of course! – Jenny x

I thought of doing this a while ago, and made them with my daughters kindy friends. I think they are fun.

How to make a hobby horse.

Have a look at a horses profile. Draw and cut two pieces out of cardboard. Using the first as a pattern to trace the second.

Have your friend paint them. Wrap a dowel rod or a nice long stick (about an inch thick) with ribbon. Put the rod between the two horse head sides. If your cardboard is thin enough (although it’s not good if it’s thin enough to flop) staple heads together. Or punch holes with something sharp and tie string through to hold. Staple outer edges.

Giddy Up!

Butttt… I used some dowel close at hand that was hardwood and heavy and my accomplice became frustrated. Light thinner pine is best. But you know it’s good to use what you find.

It looks pretty in her room anyway. Stop by for some dollies and ballerinas crafts tomorrow!

A.W


by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 23rd February 2011

2 comments

  • Tracy 4 years ago

    Thank you for the great craft projects. I will be doing these with my daughter.

  • Meaghan 4 years ago

    I wish I had a daughter to do these with!

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 29th April 2014
10
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 11th June 2014
14
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 30th April 2014
21
Mario Karam of Mario's Kitchen
Tuesday 29th April 2014
3
Julia Busuttil Nishimura of Ostro
Tuesday 20th May 2014
8
Julia Busuttil Nishimura of Ostro
Tuesday 6th May 2014
16
Julia Busuttil Nishimura of Ostro
Tuesday 13th May 2014
8
Julia Busuttil Nishimura of Ostro
Tuesday 27th May 2014
10
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 14th May 2014
30
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 21st May 2014
30
by Lisa Marie Corso
Monday 28th April 2014
4
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 7th May 2014
41