Uncategorized

Top 5 Australian Homes re-visited – Rachel Bending’s Byron Bay Sanctuary!

by Lucy Feagins, Editor
Friday 31st December 2010

The Byron Bay home of Bird Textiles designer Rachel Bending

Plunge pool!

Kitchen details

Eclectic details in the loungeroom

Rachel Bending’s amazing home in Byron Bay had all of us dreaming about summer holidays back in August! This beautiful sanctuary with stunning views of Byron Bay’s hinterland sparked so many lovely comments from you all – it seems most of us are on the same page when it comes to the idea of a ‘dream home’!

As mentioned in the original post, there is much more to this gorgeous home than meets the eye – Rachel has been practicing sustainable design for years with her company, Bird Textiles, and has carried this ethos through to the design of her dream home with husband Campbell (a chef and organic farmer).  Rachel’s house is run on solar power and solar hot water – and the home is almost entirely self sufficient, apart from the phone and internet!  Living proof that it really is possible for a sustainable home to have a contemporary design feel!

Huge thanks once again to Rachel for sharing these shots of her amazing home – I should also mention that Rachel and Cam have just welcomed a beautiful baby girl into their world – congratulations guys!

Do pop back to the original post for more pics and more info on Rachel and Cam’s sustainable home!

Ps) PLEASE JOIN ME again next week when normal Design Files programming will commence!  Yee ha!  Happy New Year! x

Rachel, rabbit, chickens(!!)

by Lucy Feagins, Editor
Friday 31st December 2010

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 2nd March 2016
31
by Lisa Marie Corso
Friday 26th February 2016
5
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 15th March 2016
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 1st March 2016
1
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 22nd March 2016
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 8th March 2016
1
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 29th March 2016
2
by Stuart Harrison
Monday 29th February 2016
6
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 1st March 2016
2
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 3rd March 2016
3
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 4th March 2016
5
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 12th April 2016