Uncategorized

Sarah Dingwall’s Favourite Things – Nature & Flameworking

by Jenny Butler
Tuesday 16th November 2010

From something broken or tiny or perfect or simple, Sarah has a special gift of spotting & capturing the unique beauty things that some of us may never notice. Today Sarah shares with us some of her favourite things in nature and how they inspire her flamework. – Jenny x

All photos by Sarah Dingwall

My dear mother bought me a very old butterfly collection a few years back, MY WORD, I think I should study insects a whole lot more, take a leaf out of their book. Colour and texture in nature: SO exciting.

Anyhow! This is flameworked dichroic glass, it is deliciously, outrageously shiny. And intriguing, I think.

Meanwhile! Check out these little guys.

I’m rather excited about these colours, and how inspiration is waiting just outdoors.

(flameworked glass rings)

Some sweeeeet colours in nature, and in glass.

And here’s my little flameworking corner in the shed.

And again, with the process of flameworking, glass can be used as a solution for displaying fragile findings. (And maybe even wearing them?)

Little Houses

Tiny Glass Container‘ ring

Alrighty, tomorrow I’m going to one of my FAVOURITE places ever. See you there!

Sarah x

All photos by Sarah Dingwall

by Jenny Butler
Tuesday 16th November 2010

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 29th March 2016
2
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 12th April 2016
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 5th April 2016
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 19th April 2016
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 26th April 2016
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 31st March 2016
1
by Stuart Harrison
Monday 28th March 2016
1
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 30th March 2016
13
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 29th March 2016
2
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 1st April 2016
2
Jo Hoban
Monday 4th April 2016
1