Craft

Modernist Australia – Interiors, Textiles & Raiders of the Lost Craft

by Jenny Butler
Friday 26th November 2010

For their final installment today, Pete and Patricia share some of their favourite mid-century modern fabrics and ‘lost crafts’! It’s been a fantactic week of Modernist marvels… huge thanks to Peter and Patricia for sharing their brilliant finds, and don’t forget to bookmark Modernist Australia for more! – Jenny x

Pattern and colour

For all the clean lines and simplicity of space, Mid-Century Modern homes are by no means boring. After the austerity of wartime, interiors suddenly had licence to go wild and fabrics, ceramics and surfaces incited a riot of colour. Hot pinks, burnt oranges, turquoise or Kelly greens were the order of the day.

The culmination of all these elements can still be seen in some unaltered, original and truly classic homes which we find coming up for sale every week…

String Art

Our final passion here at Modernist Australia is an appreciation for what we’d term The Lost Crafts, those kind of ‘hobbies’ often see instruction for in op shop craft books, the results of which hang in rumpus rooms and craft cupboards of many Mid-Century homes. They’re just awaiting a new audience to (literally) make them cool once more…….

Paint by Numbers

Enamel

Adios dear readers, thanks to The Design Files for having us and remember – stay Modern!

Pete & Patricia ox
Modernist Australia


by Jenny Butler
Friday 26th November 2010

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

Michael Pham of Phamily Kitchen
Tuesday 19th January 2016
2
Julia Busuttil Nishimura of Ostro
Tuesday 26th January 2016
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 20th January 2016
11
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 19th January 2016
Georgina Reid
Thursday 21st January 2016
30
Madeleine Dore
Friday 22nd January 2016
17
by Stuart Harrison
Monday 25th January 2016
2
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 9th February 2016
2
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 27th January 2016
11
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 29th January 2016
1
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 28th January 2016
1
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 26th January 2016
5