Craft

Modernist Australia – Interiors, Textiles & Raiders of the Lost Craft

by Jenny Butler
Friday 26th November 2010

For their final installment today, Pete and Patricia share some of their favourite mid-century modern fabrics and ‘lost crafts’! It’s been a fantactic week of Modernist marvels… huge thanks to Peter and Patricia for sharing their brilliant finds, and don’t forget to bookmark Modernist Australia for more! – Jenny x

Pattern and colour

For all the clean lines and simplicity of space, Mid-Century Modern homes are by no means boring. After the austerity of wartime, interiors suddenly had licence to go wild and fabrics, ceramics and surfaces incited a riot of colour. Hot pinks, burnt oranges, turquoise or Kelly greens were the order of the day.

The culmination of all these elements can still be seen in some unaltered, original and truly classic homes which we find coming up for sale every week…

String Art

Our final passion here at Modernist Australia is an appreciation for what we’d term The Lost Crafts, those kind of ‘hobbies’ often see instruction for in op shop craft books, the results of which hang in rumpus rooms and craft cupboards of many Mid-Century homes. They’re just awaiting a new audience to (literally) make them cool once more…….

Paint by Numbers

Enamel

Adios dear readers, thanks to The Design Files for having us and remember – stay Modern!

Pete & Patricia ox
Modernist Australia


by Jenny Butler
Friday 26th November 2010

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 5th July 2016
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 30th June 2016
2
Sarah Trotter of Hearth Studio
Friday 1st July 2016
7
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 4th July 2016
Phillip Messenger
Tuesday 5th July 2016
3
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 6th July 2016
10
Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 7th July 2016
1
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 8th July 2016
6
Phillip Messenger
Tuesday 12th July 2016
4
Philip Messenger
Tuesday 26th July 2016
2
Georgina Reid
Monday 11th July 2016
4