Uncategorized

Modernist Australia – Book Smarts and Local Heroes

by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 24th November 2010

Modernist Australia are sharing their favourite mid-century modern book and magazine sources with us today- both old and new. We also see a close up of their Australian design heroes and some of their iconic works. – Jenny x

Apart from stalking original houses in their natural habitat and in the real estate pages, Modernist Australia would know nothing of the MCM world without books and magazines. There are endless publications from overseas, but what we really treasure is the Australian contributions.

And on the subject of keeping it local, see the work of a few of Australian Modernist heroes. Certainly not close to a definitive list, but merely a good place to start….

Grant & Mary Featherston – Designers and Educators

Harry Seidler – Architect

John Rodriquez – Textile designer

Robyn Boyd – Architect

See you tomorrow,

Modernist Australia x


by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 24th November 2010

2 comments

  • Ray Garrod 5 years ago

    love those fabrics….and OH for a Featherstone chair with original fabric. Dream.

  • Natasha Dumais 5 years ago

    oh my! yellow rainbow *love*

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Friday 11th July 2014
2
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 7th July 2014
3
Lisa Marie Corso & Concetta Corso
Tuesday 8th July 2014
13
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 8th July 2014
2
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 9th July 2014
30
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 10th July 2014
10
by Lisa Marie Corso
Monday 14th July 2014
22
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 15th July 2014
2
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 21st July 2014
11
Lisa Marie Corso & Concetta Corso
Tuesday 15th July 2014
6
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 23rd July 2014
28
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 16th July 2014
23