Uncategorized

Modernist Australia – Book Smarts and Local Heroes

by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 24th November 2010

Modernist Australia are sharing their favourite mid-century modern book and magazine sources with us today- both old and new. We also see a close up of their Australian design heroes and some of their iconic works. – Jenny x

Apart from stalking original houses in their natural habitat and in the real estate pages, Modernist Australia would know nothing of the MCM world without books and magazines. There are endless publications from overseas, but what we really treasure is the Australian contributions.

And on the subject of keeping it local, see the work of a few of Australian Modernist heroes. Certainly not close to a definitive list, but merely a good place to start….

Grant & Mary Featherston – Designers and Educators

Harry Seidler – Architect

John Rodriquez – Textile designer

Robyn Boyd – Architect

See you tomorrow,

Modernist Australia x


by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 24th November 2010

2 comments

  • Ray Garrod 5 years ago

    love those fabrics….and OH for a Featherstone chair with original fabric. Dream.

  • Natasha Dumais 5 years ago

    oh my! yellow rainbow *love*

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 30th July 2014
22
With Concetta Corso & Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 29th July 2014
14
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 6th August 2014
52
by Lisa Marie Corso
Monday 4th August 2014
8
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 5th August 2014
4
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 8th August 2014
10
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 11th August 2014
10
Cassie Lucas of Firecracker
Tuesday 5th August 2014
8
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 28th August 2014
14
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 6th October 2014
3
Cassie Lucas of Firecracker
Tuesday 12th August 2014
3
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 19th August 2014
7