Uncategorized

Modernist Australia – Book Smarts and Local Heroes

by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 24th November 2010

Modernist Australia are sharing their favourite mid-century modern book and magazine sources with us today- both old and new. We also see a close up of their Australian design heroes and some of their iconic works. – Jenny x

Apart from stalking original houses in their natural habitat and in the real estate pages, Modernist Australia would know nothing of the MCM world without books and magazines. There are endless publications from overseas, but what we really treasure is the Australian contributions.

And on the subject of keeping it local, see the work of a few of Australian Modernist heroes. Certainly not close to a definitive list, but merely a good place to start….

Grant & Mary Featherston – Designers and Educators

Harry Seidler – Architect

John Rodriquez – Textile designer

Robyn Boyd – Architect

See you tomorrow,

Modernist Australia x


by Jenny Butler
Wednesday 24th November 2010

2 comments

  • Ray Garrod 4 years ago

    love those fabrics….and OH for a Featherstone chair with original fabric. Dream.

  • Natasha Dumais 4 years ago

    oh my! yellow rainbow *love*

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Monday 3rd February 2014
19
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 5th February 2014
33
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 4th February 2014
26
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 22nd April 2014
1
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 13th February 2014
18
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 4th February 2014
7
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 6th February 2014
16
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 14th February 2014
18
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 7th February 2014
12
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 11th February 2014
17
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 12th February 2014
60
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 10th February 2014
1372