Illustration

All The Buildings In New York – Brooklyn

by Jenny Butler
Monday 29th November 2010

Welcome illustrator James Gulliver Hancock to the Guest Blog! You loved him as December in the The Design Files Neighbourhood Calendar & this week we get a special insight into his latest ongoing project, All The Buildings In New York. – Jenny x

‘Brooklyn’ Illustration by James Gulliver Hancock

We live above a little corner deli in Brooklyn, just like this. It’s been a sharp shock into the density of living in New York. The roller door opening and closing at the same time everyday, the cliche accents floating up through the window, ‘hey joey, gimme a bagel…’ etc etc. Tres Romantic… sometimes.

Well, here’s a hipster mountain man with with scratchy pants, op-shop jacket, lovely mountain beard and appropriate ironic-grandma knitwear. A common sight all through Brooklyn.

– James
All The Buildings in New York


by Jenny Butler
Monday 29th November 2010

1 comments

  • Will 4 years ago

    This guy is such a talent. Awesome.

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Friday 31st October 2014
7
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 30th October 2014
2
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 29th October 2014
11
Julia Busuttil Nishimura & Nori Nishimura
Tuesday 28th October 2014
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 28th October 2014
4
by Georgina Reid
Monday 27th October 2014
10
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 24th October 2014
17
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 22nd October 2014
18
Julia Busuttil Nishmura & Nori Nishimura
Tuesday 21st October 2014
2
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 23rd October 2014
6
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 21st October 2014
by Amber Creswell Bell
Monday 20th October 2014