Uncategorized

Trent’s European Travel Diary – Fabulous Florence

by Jenny Butler
Thursday 7th October 2010

It’s such a romantic idea cycling through Florence on a sunny Saturday afternoon, or at least that’s what I thought! Today Trent takes us in and around provincial Florence, avoiding the crowds and appreciating some of the brilliant sights. – Jenny x

Last weekend I spent Saturday taking my bicycle on the train to Florence. As I am sure you know, Florence is a beautiful city, but I was not at all prepared for the number of people that descend on this beautiful valley on the weekend. Luckily I had my bicycle, so I could mow them down.

I didn’t fancy queuing for hours to see the museums (maybe I will return on a weekday for those), so I spent the day cycling from one piazza to the next. I started at Piazza Del Duomo, rode on to Piazza Della Repubblica and dodged the finely clad tourists at Palazzo Vecchio on the way to Ponte Vecchio. Later I headed up the hill to Piazzale Michelangelo to view the city and the rest of the valley in its entirety.

On my way back down I stopped in a little bar for lunch and thought I would be adventurous by ordering something from the menu that I was not familiar with. I am not much of a meat eater, but I ended up with a big plate of meat and pasta and a local beer to wash it down with.

After lunch there was time for a quick gelato and a ride up in the hills above Florence before getting on the train back to Pontedera.

Trent


by Jenny Butler
Thursday 7th October 2010

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 2nd March 2016
31
by Lisa Marie Corso
Friday 26th February 2016
5
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 15th March 2016
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 1st March 2016
1
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 22nd March 2016
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 8th March 2016
1
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 29th March 2016
2
by Stuart Harrison
Monday 29th February 2016
6
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 1st March 2016
2
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 3rd March 2016
3
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 4th March 2016
5
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 12th April 2016