Uncategorized

Trent’s European Travel Diary – Fabulous Florence

by Jenny Butler
Thursday 7th October 2010

It’s such a romantic idea cycling through Florence on a sunny Saturday afternoon, or at least that’s what I thought! Today Trent takes us in and around provincial Florence, avoiding the crowds and appreciating some of the brilliant sights. – Jenny x

Last weekend I spent Saturday taking my bicycle on the train to Florence. As I am sure you know, Florence is a beautiful city, but I was not at all prepared for the number of people that descend on this beautiful valley on the weekend. Luckily I had my bicycle, so I could mow them down.

I didn’t fancy queuing for hours to see the museums (maybe I will return on a weekday for those), so I spent the day cycling from one piazza to the next. I started at Piazza Del Duomo, rode on to Piazza Della Repubblica and dodged the finely clad tourists at Palazzo Vecchio on the way to Ponte Vecchio. Later I headed up the hill to Piazzale Michelangelo to view the city and the rest of the valley in its entirety.

On my way back down I stopped in a little bar for lunch and thought I would be adventurous by ordering something from the menu that I was not familiar with. I am not much of a meat eater, but I ended up with a big plate of meat and pasta and a local beer to wash it down with.

After lunch there was time for a quick gelato and a ride up in the hills above Florence before getting on the train back to Pontedera.

Trent


by Jenny Butler
Thursday 7th October 2010

2 comments

  • jess 5 years ago

    ahhhhhh florence and a bicycle. lovely.

  • Justine 5 years ago

    A ticket to Florence PLEASE! How utterly beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 11th June 2014
14
Julia Busuttil Nishimura of Ostro
Tuesday 27th May 2014
10
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 29th May 2014
8
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 28th May 2014
75
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 4th June 2014
19
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 2nd July 2014
19
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 13th June 2014
11
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 27th May 2014
7
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 20th June 2014
18
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 30th May 2014
7
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 5th June 2014
5
Pat Breen & Lydia Wegner of Shop Ramen
Tuesday 17th June 2014
5