Uncategorized

Clemens Habicht’s Faces of France – Ski 1954

by Jenny Butler
Monday 11th June 2012

We’re very excited to welcome Clemens Habicht to the Guest Blog for Expat Week! Clemens is an illustrator / designer / commercial and video director who lives in Paris, and we are thrilled with the series he has created for us this week. Each day Clemens has formed a face using an old anonymous photo, and has a tale to accompany each. Thank you Clemens, we love your work! – Jenny

Ski 1954 – collage illustration by Clemens Habicht (love the Gendarme’s serious expression!)

The Gendarme, and Firemen, and in general all the men in French public services like that have robust features that reflect their line of work. To me they tend to look a little overdrawn, like a caricature by Albert Uderzo. They are also so large, in stature and features. But when I’ve had dealings with them they have a shared joke always amongst themselves, and are open to the humour of any situation. I once saw a mountain bike cop do skids in Gare du Nord, like he was an eleven year old boy.

And they are so kitted up in uniforms, big jack boots, even the giant men on roller blades (yep police on roller blades) seem intimidating in a Robo Cop way.

Their expressions make you take what might otherwise feel like a dress up uniform (or in the case of the Gendarme, that familiar uniform that you grew up with on ‘Allo ‘Allo!) Seriously, they definitely do.

Clemens


by Jenny Butler
Monday 11th June 2012

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 29th March 2016
2
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 12th April 2016
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 5th April 2016
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 19th April 2016
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 26th April 2016
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 31st March 2016
1
by Stuart Harrison
Monday 28th March 2016
1
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 30th March 2016
13
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 29th March 2016
2
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 1st April 2016
2
Jo Hoban
Monday 4th April 2016
1