Uncategorized

A Posy A Day with Wunderplant – The Fernery

by Jenny Butler
Tuesday 14th February 2012

Today we take a walk with Amy to her shaded fernery at the bottom of the Wunderplant garden. Gathering a beautiful selection of greenery and adding in a splice of colour, today’s posy is perfect as a gift for your valentine today or any other day of the year too! -Jenny x

Sometimes it’s the vessel and its placement that tells you what it wants. The white marble and glass bottles just screamed Crystal Palace! The stumbling across this lovely old coffee pot, it told me – take a trip to the bottom of the garden to the shaded fernery.

Silver Elm, Maidenhair Ferns, Staghorn Ferns and some blue/purple Plumbago!

From the arching antler shaped  fronds of the staghorn, to the soft delicate details of the maidenhair; ferns give a fabulous array of interesting contrasts to work with.

I adore the cascading effect of the fern fronds and speckled foliage of the Elm in this little posy. As always with a Wunderplant posy, there is a little twist- Plumbago! With its garden naivety and ‘nanna’ blue colouring, its a perfect introduction into the mix. So simple.

Amy x


by Jenny Butler
Tuesday 14th February 2012

4 comments

  • Pippa 3 years ago

    This arrangement is very beautiful, each piece of foliage and flower sing within the display. I’m looking forward to the next one!

  • Harriet 3 years ago

    there can never be enough maidenhair in your life! love the arrangement.

  • tiel 3 years ago

    Hi Amy, so happy to see you guest blogging here. You are such an inspiration.

  • Kimberly 3 years ago

    Just so gorgeous and unexpected! Love it.

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Friday 28th November 2014
1
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 27th November 2014
1
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 19th November 2014
19
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 26th November 2014
27
Tamsin Carvan of Tamsin's Table
Tuesday 25th November 2014
1
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 24th November 2014
11
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 21st November 2014
4
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 20th November 2014
Tamsin Carvan of Tamsin's Table
Tuesday 18th November 2014
4
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 17th November 2014
7
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 18th November 2014
3
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 12th November 2014
18