Uncategorized

Kirra Jamison Loves Japan – Bus Stops and Bathhouses

by Jenny Butler
Thursday 24th November 2011

A delightful day out and about with Kirra Jamison on the Guest Blog today!  From street-side gardens to the Tower of the Sun, we get a lovely insight into some of the day-to-day scenes in and around Tokyo. Thanks Kirra! – Jenny x

Ohayou gozaimasu Design Filers! Today I’m sharing another random selection of travel shots including some DIY bus stops, the best piece of public art I’ve ever seen along with some other treasures, arty and otherwise.

Kirra x

Bus-stops in Kichijoji.

This amazing sight is artist Taro Okamotos Tower Of The Sun in the Expo ‘70 Commemorative Park just outside of Osaka.

Book and Work and exhibition by Masanao Hiryama at PANTALOON.

PANTALOON, in Osaka, is a multi disciplinary design studio and exhibition space. Within Pantaloon is the studio of artist Tomoko Soda. Under the name gogcod, Tomoko hand makes beautiful basket like objects entirely out of thread that she zigzg stiches over and over on this older Singer machine!

Hello Sandwich workshop at Shibaura House. Magical.

Naoshima island or ‘that art island in Japan’ is located in the Seto Inland Sea of Japan. It’s famous for the Benesse House complex and a slew contemporary art museums.

This is the exterior of “I ♥ Yu” a fully functional art installation and Japanese traditional public bath on Naoshima Island. “I ♥ Yu” is a collaborative project between artist Shinro Ohtake and design studio graf.

Works by Yukinori Maeda at the Yokohama Triennial 2011: Our Magic Hour. Yukinori is the founder of the AMAZING multi-media art and design project Cosmic Wonder. Light Source is Cosmic Wonder’s fashion project… it’s gorgeous and totally worth getting acquainted with.


by Jenny Butler
Thursday 24th November 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 13th July 2016
14
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 19th May 2016
13
Kate Berry
Tuesday 10th May 2016
2
Kate Berry
Tuesday 17th May 2016
Kate Berry
Tuesday 31st May 2016
5
Kate Berry
Tuesday 24th May 2016
3
Kate Berry
Tuesday 3rd May 2016
3
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 28th April 2016
Sean Fennessy
Friday 29th April 2016
5
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 2nd May 2016
291
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 3rd May 2016
1
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 4th May 2016
9