Uncategorized

Required Reading with Perimeter Books – Japanese Publishing

by Jenny Butler
Friday 29th July 2011

Thank you to Dan and Justine of Perimeter Books for such an enjoyable week on the Guest Blog, it has been wonderful to see the books that bookstore owners love! Congratulations to this week’s giveaway winner Elissa C – I know there are many jealous book lovers out there that would like to be in your shoes! Happy weekend all! – Jenny x

We thought we’d finish up our guest blogging stint with something close to our hearts. We love Japan. As if to illustrate the point, we even got married there (suffice to say, our mothers were not impressed).  But back to business…

Like most things they try their hand at, the Japanese are particularly adept publishers. From quiet and unobtrusive, nonetheless playful design sensibilities to an incredible attention to detail, a Japanese art or design book is instantly recognisable. We’ve decided to feature two publishers working in very different contexts: the cute, lush design and craft publications of BNN and the gorgeous photography and art monographs of Foil.

We hope you love them as much as we do.

Girls Zine featuring Hello Sandwich!!

Living with Modern Crafts

Design Goods Showcase

The Frontline of Fashion

It doesn’t get much sweeter than Foil. Beautifully printed on incredible stocks. Stunning design. Lovely.

Nohagi Naka – Noto

We originally found this book in a high-rise store in Tokyo. It traces artist Nohagi Naka’s journey back to her tiny hometown in the midst of winter. Still one of our favourite books. Simple and beautiful.

Kuge Yasuhide – Atelier

Yasuhide Kuge – niwa to sono

Well, our week’s up and we’ve loved ever minute of it. Hope you have too. A big thanks to Lucy and Jenny! Pop by the store and say hi sometime.

– Dan & Justine, Perimeter x


by Jenny Butler
Friday 29th July 2011

1 comments

  • Meaghan 3 years ago

    Thank you :)

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 23rd December 2014
1
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 22nd December 2014
2
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 19th December 2014
4
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 18th December 2014
15
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 16th December 2014
6
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 15th December 2014
16
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 12th December 2014
2
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 11th December 2014
2
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 4th December 2014
18
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 10th December 2014
13
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 9th December 2014
1
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 2nd December 2014
1