Uncategorized

New Guest Blog – Looking into Letterpress with Carolyn Fraser

by Lucy Feagins, Editor
Monday 11th July 2011

This week Melbourne letterpress printmaker Carolyn Fraser joins us on the Guest Blog!

This week Jenny and I are super excited to learn a little more about LETTERPRESS – and who better to share her knowledge on this subject than lovely local printmaker Carolyn Fraser!?

You might recall my interview with Carolyn earlier this year… as mentioned back then, Carolyn is such a truly inspiring creative – she’s a letterpress expert, of course, but she’s also such an incredible teacher and spokesperson for her craft, genuinely passionate about sharing her knowledge and encouraging the continuance of this age-old printing technique.

Carolyn’s Letterpress studio Idlewild Press is based at the Compound Interest in Collingwood.  Here Carolyn works on personal and commissioned printmaking projects, and runs popular letterpress classes every month.  Amazingly, Carolyn’s classes are limited to just four lucky people per class – an incredible opportunity for any budding letterpress printer!  All info over here.

In addition to running her print studio, Carolyn also preserves rare books and artefacts at the State Library of Victoria, she is a freelance writer, (contributing to BRILLIANT US magazine Uppercase),  and she has her own blog over here too!

This week Carolyn will introduce us to the work of a select group of letterpress studios both in Australia and abroad. DO pop over to the Guest Blog each day to admire some of the very best in contemporary letterpress printing!


by Lucy Feagins, Editor
Monday 11th July 2011

0 comments

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 11th June 2014
14
Julia Busuttil Nishimura of Ostro
Tuesday 27th May 2014
10
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 29th May 2014
8
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 28th May 2014
75
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 4th June 2014
19
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 2nd July 2014
19
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 26th May 2014
7
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 13th June 2014
11
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 27th May 2014
7
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 20th June 2014
18
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 30th May 2014
7
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 5th June 2014
5