Uncategorized

Armadillo&Co in India – Day with our Local School Kids

by Jenny Butler
Friday 1st April 2011

A great big thank you to Jodie [and Sally!] for taking us on a journey to India and letting us experience life behind the scenes of Armadillo&Co. It has been an inspiring and  interesting week seeing how the rugs come together and also the talented people behind them. Today we visit one of the local schools that Armadillo&Co support through  ‘Care & Fair’ – Jenny x

An important part of our work is about giving back and working in harmony with the communities in which we are involved.  One of our most joyous days of our trip is always visiting and spending the day with the local school which we support.

We work closely with ‘Care & Fair’, which is an initiative against illegal child labour in the carpet production industry in India, Nepal and Pakistan. We are ardent supporters and vocal advocates of this cause. Absolutely no child labour is in any way employed in our rug making.

At Armadillo&Co, we voluntarily collaborate with this vitally important organization. We are consciously active when it comes to community involvement, and happily contribute financially to local education. Our most recent and very rewarding project was purchasing play equipment for a local school and now ongoing support for the committed and amazing teachers at this school.

When purchasing any rug or carpet made in India, look for the ‘KALEEN’ label. Issued by the Carpet Export Promotion Council of India, it guarantees that child labour was not used in manufacture. Naturally, all of our rugs made in India carry this label.

Jodie x


by Jenny Butler
Friday 1st April 2011

Show Comments

Sign up for the TDF Daily Newsletter

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 2nd March 2016
31
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 15th March 2016
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 1st March 2016
1
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 22nd March 2016
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 8th March 2016
1
Mauro Callegari of The Independent
Tuesday 29th March 2016
2
by Stuart Harrison
Monday 29th February 2016
6
by Lisa Marie Corso
Tuesday 1st March 2016
2
by Lisa Marie Corso
Thursday 3rd March 2016
3
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 4th March 2016
5
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 12th April 2016
Ashley Alexander
Tuesday 5th April 2016