Uncategorized

Paul Barbera finds Where They Create – Jebila Wolfe-Okongwu

by Jenny Butler
Tuesday 25th January 2011

Today Paul takes us on a trip to Rome to visit the studio of one of his oldest friends, Jebila Wolfe-Okongwu. A dark and moody space full of sculptures and paintings, I’m not surprised that it inspired Paul to start building Where They Create. – Jenny x

The reason why Jeb is an important part of my project is not only because he is an old mate from art school or that I admire his work, but because it is in his house/studio in Rome, that I started to build the website for Where They Create.

Jeb had asked me to shoot his studio for his own website, and I realised that I wanted to collate together a series of photos of all the past studios that I had shot. Talking the idea over with Jeb and another visiting Aussie friend, Michael Nicolaci, (who helped me with the name of the website) confirmed that I was on the right track.

After following Jeb’s work over the last 15 years, in which he gradually embraced his African heritage, I found that photographing his studio was a very natural and organic process, which gave me satisfaction that was different to my work as a commercial and interior photographer. It made me want to find more studios in which I would photograph behind those closed doors…

Paul


by Jenny Butler
Tuesday 25th January 2011

0 comments

You might also like

by Lucy Feagins
Friday 24th October 2014
7
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 22nd October 2014
15
Julia Busuttil Nishmura & Nori Nishimura
Tuesday 21st October 2014
2
by Lucy Feagins
Thursday 23rd October 2014
5
by Lucy Feagins
Tuesday 21st October 2014
by Amber Creswell Bell
Monday 20th October 2014
by Lucy Feagins
Friday 17th October 2014
15
by Lucy Feagins
Monday 13th October 2014
12
Julia Busuttil Nishimura & Norihiko Nishimura
Tuesday 14th October 2014
by Lucy Feagins
Wednesday 15th October 2014
21
by Amber Creswell Bell
Friday 10th October 2014
5
by Stuart Harrison
Thursday 9th October 2014
6